The Fellowship of the Ring Book By J. R. R. Tolkien (PDF-Summary-Review-Online Reading-Download)

The Fellowship of the Ring is the first of the three volumes of the epic novel The Lord of the Rings by the English author J. R. R. Tolkien. The two towers and the return of the king followed. It takes place in the fictional universe of Middle Earth. It was originally published on July 29, 1954, in the United Kingdom.

The volume consists of a prologue, in which the author discusses his writing of The Lord of the Rings, a prologue entitled "On Hobbits and Other Matters," and the main narrative in Book I and Book II.

Book Summary
A Ring to rule them all, A Ring to find them, A Ring to bring them all and in the dark tie them

In ancient times, the Rings of Power were created by the elven blacksmiths, and Sauron, The Dark Lord, forged the Unique Ring, filling it with his own power to rule all others. But the One Ring was taken away, and although he looked for it throughout Middle-earth, it remained lost to him. After many ages, it fell into the hands of Bilbo Baggins, as told in The Hobbit.

In a quiet village in the Region, the young Frodo Baggins faces an immense task, since his cousin Bilbo entrusts him with the ring. Frodo must leave his home and make a dangerous journey through Middle Earth to Cracks of Doom, there to destroy the Ring and frustrate the Dark Lord in his evil purpose.

Book Club Questions

Book Review
Here there are beauties that pierce like swords or burn like cold iron.

About The Author
J.R.R. John Ronald Reuel Tolkien (1892–1973) is the creator of Middle-earth and author of such classic and extraordinary works of fiction as The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and The Silmarillion. His books have been translated into more than fifty languages and have sold many millions of copies worldwide.


Commenting only available for logged in users